

18th Annual Meeting Presenters

May 24 - 26, 2019

The Kingbridge Conference Centre in King City



Dr. Art Kavanaugh

Professor Arthur Kavanaugh is currently Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) School of Medicine. In addition, he is the Director of the Center for Innovative Therapy in the UCSD Division of Rheumatology, Allergy, and Immunology. Professor Kavanaugh's main research interest has been in clinical research, particularly translational aspects of rheumatology research. This has included work delineating the pathophysiology of rheumatic diseases as well as defining changes associated with novel immunomodulatory therapies. Professor Kavanaugh has authored more than 400 peer reviewed scientific publications and reviews and book chapters. He is on the editorial board for several journals and has served as peer reviewer for more than a dozen scientific journals.



Dr. Raashid Luqmani

Raashid Luqmani graduated from the Nottingham University, thereafter completing his medical rotation in North Staffordshire, and further rheumatology training in Southampton (Research Registrar in Rheumatology) and Birmingham. He completed his MD on synovial biopsies in patients with rheumatoid and psoriatic arthritis. He was first appointed consultant in Edinburgh 1994, subsequently moved to Oxford in 2005 and was appointed Professor of Rheumatology in 2011. He is interested in vasculitis and have several publications and a number of grants to develop my areas of interests which are clinical evaluation of patient with vasculitis. He is increasingly interested in imaging of patients with large vessel vasculitis and exploring the potential for biomarkers in defining subgroups for the purpose of improving disease outcome in vasculitis.



Dr. Denis McGonagle

Dennis McGonagle FRCPI PhD is an Academic Rheumatologist at the University of Leeds and section head of experimental Rheumatology. He graduated in Medicine from University College Dublin in 1990 and undertook postgraduate training in Dublin and Leeds where he completed his PhD. He has developed the modern enthesitis model for spondyloarthropathies and psoriatic arthritis including the cytokine mediated enthesis originating theory of disease.(Lancet 1998). He also described the synovio-entheseal complex, nail anchorage to the skeleton, developed an integrated biomechanical and immunology model for PsA and a mechanistic disease classification of immune diseases (PLoS Med 2006). His group also discovered synovial fluid mesenchymal stem cells which is being researched towards osteoarthritis therapy development. He has served on the EULAR scientific committee and is a member of the Editorial board of ARD



Dr. lain B. McInnes

lain McInnes is Muirhead Professor of Medicine, ARUK Professor of Rheumatology and Director of the Institute of Infection Immunity and Inflammation, University of Glasgow. He has lead numerous multicentre clinical trial and laboratory pathogenesis investigation programmes in inflammatory arthritis at the international level. He is Director of the ARUK Centre of Excellence for Rheumatoid Arthritis. He is immediate past chairman of the Foreum (Foundation for European Rheumatology Research) Scientific Committee, leads the European Roadmap programme that is defining the research agenda for

European rheumatology for the next decade and is President-elect of EULAR. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Academy of Medical Sciences.



Dr. Jonathan Adachi

Dr. Jonathan Adachi is a Professor of Medicine at the Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine at McMaster University. He is the Actavis Chair for Better Bone Health in Rheumatology. Dr. Adachi has been involved in clinical trials and epidemiologic research, as well as imaging research in osteoporosis, osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. Dr Adachi has over 500 peer reviewed publications and is a respected leader in bone research in Canada and Internationally.



Dr. Tom Appleton

Dr. Appleton joined the Division of Rheumatology in 2016 as a Clinician Scientist and provides clinical service to patients with inflammatory rheumatologic disorders in addition to running the translational early OA research program. His cross appointment in the Department of Physiology & Pharmacology in 2017 facilitates the discovery aspect of the research program in the laboratory utilizing multiple molecular biology techniques. The main focus of the lab is studying the molecular interplay between synovium and articular cartilage and the inflammatory mediators that drive joint damage and dysfunction in early OA. Dr. Appleton joined the ORA Board of Directors in June, 2017 and oversees the data governance team within the Informatics Committee.



Dr. Edward C. Keystone

Dr. Keystone is a professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto. He is a Senior Consultant in Rheumatology at Mount Sinai Hospital. In 2003 Dr. Keystone established The Rebecca Macdonald Centre for Arthritis and Autoimmune Disease - a centre devoted to research of genomics, therapeutics, and outcomes in autoimmune inflammatory joint disease. He is Director of the Centre and heads the Advanced Therapeutics Division which focuses on novel therapeutics in Rheumatoid Arthritis. Dr. Keystone is a consultant to the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry, and is a member of numerous national and international biopharmaceutical advisory boards. He is also the recipient of numerous prestigious awards, including Rheumatologist of the Year by the Ontario Rheumatology Association.



Dr. Janet Pope

Dr. Janet Pope is a Professor of Medicine in the Division of Rheumatology and also Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of Western Ontario (UWO), Schulich School of Medicine, London, Ontario, Canada. She is the Division Head in Rheumatology at St. Joseph's Health Centre, London. She obtained her MD, and Fellowship in Internal Medicine at UWO and a Fellowship in Rheumatology and Masters of Public Health were acquired at Boston University. She then completed a Canadian Arthritis Society Research Fellowship in Scleroderma. Janet is passionate about research, teaching, mentoring and excellent clinical care. She chairs multiple boards including the Therapeutics Committee for the ORA as well as their Annual Scientific Meeting. She has received the Distinguished Investigator Award from the Canadian Rheumatology Association, Rheumatologist of the Year from the Ontario Rheumatology Association, Department of Medicine Research Achievement Award, and the Dean's Award of Excellence in Research.

Ontario Rheumatology Association

The Mission of the Ontario Rheumatology Association is to represent Ontario Rheumatologists and promote their pursuit of excellence in Arthritis care in Ontario through Leadership, Advocacy, Research & Education, and Communications.